10 Diverse Graphic Novels For Tweens & Teens

Parent Resources

Looking for some spring or summer reading for your tween or teen?

Gone are the days when graphic novels were considered less valuable or not “real” literature. An incredible story accompanied by vibrant images? What could be better?⁠

At The Reading School we believe whatever book gets them reading is the right book!⁠

10 Engaging Graphic Novels Featuring Diverse Characters

Choosing books which feature a range of races, socioeconomic backgrounds, abilities and challenges can help open your child’s eyes to the wonderful similarities and differences between us all.

For children who feel “different” at school, these diverse characters are a wonderfully affirming addition to your home library.

These 10 graphic novels feature relatable, real stories with diverse characters that your big kid will love.⁠

Save this reading list for spring break downtime or an upcoming birthday or holiday gift.⁠

Pie in the Sky – Remy Lai

“A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy’s immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang.” – Google Books

Dancing at the Pity Party – Tyler Feder

“Part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life, this debut graphic novel is extraordinarily comforting and engaging.” – Google Books

New Kid – Jerry Craft

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. A graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.” – Goodreads

The Fire Never Goes Out – Noelle Stevenson

“In a collection of essays and personal mini-comics that span eight years of her young adult life, author-illustrator Noelle Stevenson charts the highs and lows of being a creative human in the world.” – Google Books

The Magic Fish – Trung Le Nguyen

“Tiến loves his family and his friends…but Tiến has a secret he’s been keeping from them, and it might change everything. An amazing YA graphic novel that deals with the complexity of family and how stories can bring us together.” – Google Books

Snapdragon – Kat Leyh

“Kat Leyh’s Snapdragon is a magical realist graphic novel about a young girl who befriends her town’s witch and discovers the strange magic within herself.” – Google Books

Measuring Up – Lily LaMotte

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu! A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” – Google Books

Twins – Varian Johnson

“Coretta Scott King Honor author Varian Johnson teams up with rising cartoonist Shannon Wright. Maureen and Francine are growing apart and there’s nothing Maureen can do to stop it. Are sisters really forever? Or will middle school change things for good? ” – Goodreads

Pashmina – Nidhi Chanani

In this heartwarming graphic novel debut, Nidhi Chanani weaves a tale about the hardship and self-discovery that is born from juggling two cultures and two worlds.” – Goodreads

Allergic – Megan Wagner Lloyd

“She”s severely allergic to anything with fur! Can Maggie outsmart her allergies and find the perfect pet? With illustrations by Michelle Mee Nutter, Megan Wagner Lloyd draws on her own experiences with allergies to tell a heartfelt story of family, friendship, and finding a place to belong.” – Google Books